Anything Photoshop or Photography

Some Holiday Cheer

Since it is the season to be jolly, I thought I would just post a few things I did last year for the holidays last season.

For this image, I first applied a Photoshop Filter I bought called Topaz Adjust (see sidebar for website in my Tidbits Blog) using the Spicify preset, then added a Hue/Sat Adjustment Layer to take out the gold tones in the background. Painted in the mask to keep the true color of the bulbs gold. Then went back into Topaz Adjust and applied the HDR Pop preset twice with modifications to my taste. Once again I masked out the some of the bulb to give a nice contrasty effect. I added Ash Texture 3 (these textures are no longer available but see my more recent blog “Adding a Texture for Flair!” for other texture sites) for more contrast to the background. Next a Curves Adjustment Layer for more contrast (do you see a theme here?) and finally a top layer set to Overlay where I painted with a soft brush around the edges of the ornaments to help them stand out more. This is a technique that I learned from John Paul Caponigro from training he presented at Kelby Training, but he has some great information on his own website. He teaches some very different techniques that I really like.

I should also add that Topaz Adjust is one of the most popular Photoshop filters and is fairly inexpensive. It gives some great looks, especially if you want a little more edginess to your images. It even gives a very good faux HDR look (which is what I was trying to get here). One thing about using these filters with so many settings is to try applying them more than once with different presets or different layer opacities or blend modes. It can give a totally different look with a just a little effort.

This next image is one I did from a tutorial by Darrell Heath on NAPP’s website called “Season’s Greetings Backdrop.” It was a lot of fun to do and it was all done in Photoshop CS4.

Well, maybe this gave you a few inspirations and some things to try out for the holiday season. I did not want this to sound like an advertisement for the above items and groups, but I really do use these resources a lot in my work. I hope to be back with some new techniques later this month…..Digital Lady Syd

5 responses

  1. Pingback: Free Christmas Card Templates-Part 2 « Digital Lady Syd's Fun Photoshop Blog

  2. Pingback: » Digital Lady Syd’s Free Christmas Card Template Digital Lady Syd's Tidbits Blog

  3. Pingback: Some Christmas Free Overlays to Spice Up Your Christmas Cards « Digital Lady Syd's Fun Photoshop Blog

  4. Pingback: Some Free Christmas Overlays to Spice Up Your Christmas Cards « Digital Lady Syd's Fun Photoshop Blog

  5. Pingback: » Digital Lady Syd’s Free Christmas Card Template Using Photoshop Elements Digital Lady Syd's Tidbits Blog

Leave a Reply

