Anything Photoshop or Photography

How to Add Images to Text

Since my computer is at the shop this week, I have had to go with something a little simpler on my laptop.  I found a really interesting tutorial which is a short, easy, non-talking video.  It is called “Placing Images in Text” as posted on 1/12/11 at Picturesocial.com. I will list the simple instructions as follows:

1. Open image to use in text layer.
2. Unlock the Background layer. (Drag lock to trash can.)
3. Create a New Layer underneath Background Layer by ALT clicking the New Layer icon and fill with whatever color you would like to use.
4. Highlight top layer and select Text Tool.
5. Click on image and enter text with the font you want to use – can adjust size of text later. Click Check to finalize text.
6. Select the Move Tool and move the text where you would like it.
7. Can CTRL+T to adjust the text size. Click check to finalize text again.
8. Drag Background layer above Text layer.
9. Go to Layer – Create Clipping Mask or ALT+click between the two layers.
10. On Text layer, create Layer Style – double click on layer to open. Select Drop Shadow and set to 100% Opacity. Play around with the other sliders and contours until you like what you see. I also added a stroke to my images here.
These are the basic steps.

For the above, I used the original image converted to a Smart Object as the background.  I used the Topaz Simplify plug-in set to Sketch Hardpencil.  I created a new preset to the plug-in to get the look I wanted by adding Contrast, Details Strength, Details Boost, Details Feature Boost, and making the Edge Type Mono Line.  I reduced the opacity of the layer to 49%.   I used a free font called Freshman from dafont.  I also used Textures by Ash No. 26 (these textures are no longer available but see my more recent blog “Adding a Texture for Flair!” for other texture sites) just above the Background layer at 65% opacity to add warmth to the image.

I tried to create something a little different with the image above.  In this case I started with a Nebulae Grunge Texture – Nebulae 1.  There are some really pretty textures here and they are all free to download.   Thank you Caleb.  Used a Selective Color Adjustment Layer to get correct color.  I also added another texture called CG Splatter Homogenous 3 to add a little red color to the image and set layer to Soft Light Blend Mode.  I used the basic Myriad Pro for my font.  The layer I clipped to the text is from CoffeeShop Valentine textures.  Another wonderful site!  Did a Vibrance Adjustment Layer to adjust the color for this texture.  Then added a white Stroke to lettering and a Drop Shadow in the Text Layer Style.  I did a composite layer (CTRL+ALT+SHIFT+E) on top to do final framing with a basic layer style – set vignetting to pink and a gray stroke around the image.

These were totally fun to create and very easy.  There is a lot of room to experiment.  If you have a chance, try it!…..Digital Lady Syd

5 responses

  1. Pingback: Playing in Photoshop! « Syd Johnson's Blog

  2. Pingback: Topaz Plug-Ins – Same Image Trying Each! « Digital Lady Syd's Fun Photoshop Blog

  3. Pingback: » Christmas Card from Digital Lady Syd! Digital Lady Syd's Tidbits Blog

  4. Pingback: Where To Get Those Free Valentine Templates « Digital Lady Syd's Fun Photoshop Blog

  5. Pingback: WHERE TO FIND ADOBE PHOTOSHOP MANUALS ON LINE & WHAT WAS IN THAT UPDATE? | Digital Lady Syd's Fun Photoshop Blog

Leave a Reply

