Anything Photoshop or Photography

Filmstrip Fun

I had a hard time coming up with something to do this week. I think it is a bad case of Spring Fever – fabulous weather here in Florida this time of year!  Today I watched a really nice video tutorial by Gavin Hoey called “Photoshop CS5 Top 5 New Features.” His fifth new feature was on the Mini-Bridge, which I personally do not use that much. But then he started showing how to put photos into a filmstrip using one of the new CS5 Film shapes and dragging photos into the document from the new Mini-Bridge. I created my blog header using his tips and some photos from previous old blogs and really enjoyed trying the effect. Therefore, I would suggest you check out this quick technique if you want a filmstrip look.

I decided to try out some other filmstrip effects to see if I like them as well as Gavin’s. Below is one created using a frame from OnOne PhotoFrames – there were several choices. The image is a salmon hibiscus I have on my porch. This was also a very easy and quick way to create a filmstrip.

Next I decided to try a tutorial by another Photoshop expert who has been writing great tutorials for several years now – Mark S. Johnson. He created a tutorial a year ago called “Workbench 222 – Floating Film Frame Effect.” I often feel like Mark is working on something I should know already, but he always surprises me with some new information or some technique I had forgotten.  This was the case once again. The beginning part of the tutorial can be shortened quite a bit by using the new single Film shape and Gavin’s tutorial CS5 tips. If you do not have CS5, Mark’s tutorial can be completely followed. (By the way, a single film can be downloaded free from stock.xchng after creating an account – you can also get a filmstrip or download mine below.) Mark shows how to make a quick vignette with a Curves Adjustment Layer and how to turn a Layer Style into a regular layer that can manipulated. (That is what I had forgotten could be done – great tip!) The image below was taken at a vacant beach on Spanish Cay in the Bahamas. I used Topaz Adjust with the Crisp preset on the original image along with Nik’s Color Efex Pro Color Remove Cast setting. This tutorial turned out to be a little more difficult but the results were interesting.


My final image is basically a composite from my Maui trip using the filmstrip effect Gavin discussed in his video, except in this case I scanned one of my old filmstrips (and cleaned it up in Photoshop) hoping to get a real “authentic” strip look. If you would like a copy of my strip, you may download it here. The filmstrip(s) shapes provided with CS5 do look as good as the scanned one. (I used the actual filmstrip color and edge text which the shapes do not have.) Using the shapes is the fastest and easiest way to do this technique if but it does lack the text and correct color. The text could be cloned or added as a text layer to the shape.

I wish to thank Gavin Hoey for giving me an inspiration this week when I was not sure there was any. This once again turned out to be a lot of fun – which is what much of Photoshop is all about!…..Digital Lady Syd

3 responses

  1. Pingback: More Filmstrip Fun – How Can This Be? « Syd Johnson's Blog

  2. Pingback: Easter Cards « Syd Johnson's Blog

  3. Pingback: The Incredible Editable Easter Egg! « Syd Johnson's Blog

Leave a Reply

