Anything Photoshop or Photography

Getting to the Art of the Matter

This week I decided to try something different. I am reading a book called “The Greater Journey – Americans in Paris” by David McCullough. It is a wonderful read – I am afraid I had never learned history like I should have when growing up. This book is about the various Americans who went to Paris in the 1800’s to learn about art, medicine, and other pursuits. In the first section of this book, a very intriguing discussion occurs about Samuel F. B. Morse, of Morse Code fame, whose actual love was painting. From 1831 to 1833 he created this large 9 foot x 6 foot painting called the “Gallery of the Louvre” where he copied 38 paintings from 25 masters. Since the photography era was in its infancy, he was trying to show Americans some of the art at the famous art gallery. I have read some criticism on this painting, but when you realize how small the copies of the paintings are in the image, and all the styles he was trying to reproduce, it seems like a pretty awesome result. His best friend, James Fennimore Cooper and family, is located in the left corner, and Morse painted himself center stage standing over a student.

Here is a small image of what the painting actually looks like.

The National Gallery of Art in Washington, DC is displaying the painting until July 2012. Here is a link to more information on the painting and for a download of a larger version. I am definitely going to see this next time I am in the DC area! It is nice that the book has brought this interesting painting to everyone’s attention again.

Now for the fun! I decided to create my own “Gallery of the Louvre” masterpiece by inserting my images where the master paintings resided. With the magic of Photoshop, the perspective was easy to get inside the painting frames.


This turned out to be a lot of fun to put together. If you would like to try this same thing, I uploaded the template I created and it is ready for download. Just drag your images into the template and place under each of the frame openings.  Then Free Transform to fit. Sometimes it was necessary to use the Distort function to do the side view images. I tried to add a little lighting to match the natural light appearing on the images and I used a texture at a low resolution on the images only to get a painterly effect.

I hope you have as much fun as I did with this. It creates a rather unusual way to look at your images – just like in the Louvre in the 1830’s. ……..Digital Lady Syd

3 responses

  1. Pingback: » Rule No. 3: Look Back at What You Have Done Digital Lady Syd's Tidbits Blog

  2. I would love to download the “Gallery of the Louvre” template but for me the link does not work. Any suggestions?

    THANKS!

    01/23/2012 at 12:14 pm

    • Terry – I have found that sometimes File Social does not work well but if you try later, you can usually get through. The download just worked for me when I just tried it. When you click download, you will get the image – right click on it and choose Save Image As – the file will download as a png file. Let me know if you still cannot get it and I will be glad to set another download place. Digital Lady Syd

      01/23/2012 at 11:25 pm

Leave a Reply

