Anything Photoshop or Photography

WATERCOLOR FUN ON A SUNNY DAY

Image of a Cattle Egret painted as a digital watercolorThis cattle egret was a great subject to try out some digital watercolor painting. Since I am still enjoying the summer, thought I would post my recent exploration into watercolor painting.

First I just painted this bird into the texture by adding one of my colorful textures created in Corel Painter, then adding the bird image on take, adding a black layer mask, and painting back on the bird and a bit of foliage so he is not just floating in the air.

Next a New Layer was created and the bird was painted. Usually I would consider using a Mixer Brush, but they just did not look right on him. I had just bought 103 brushes from Grut Brushes for $10.00 and he had developed some wonderful watercolor brushes (also lots of Ink and Oil brushes that really like – check his website for a new free brush each week). The major brush used in this image was called Sparrow Tone and the Brush Blend Mode was set to Normal to paint. Another one of my own golden brown Painter textures was used to add some vividness to the colors. The last step was to add my free painted watercolor layer on a New Layer on top.

Image of a flower cart at SeaWorld Orlando This image of a flower cart at SeaWorld Orlando took forever to paint. Still learning how to use watercolor but it was fun to try out different brushes for different effects. I wanted a Tuscany feel to the image, so I tried to stay with the very warm color palette. For the warm wash used as a background, used my free SJ Watercolor Brush Tool Round Blunt to paint across the image. Used Grut’s Sparrow Tone brush and a tiny soft round brush to detail work. The same texture as used above was used in this image and set to Darken blend mode at 61% layer opacity. This image just used a large number of painting layers and several adjustment layers to get the effect the way I liked it.

I am finding the watercolor images use different brushes and techniques to the get the effect correct. I am still working on this aspect of painting, but finding it is a lot of fun. Hope to share more on this as I learn more. Enjoy your week!…..Digital Lady Syd

Digital Lady Syd Related Blogs:
How to Get Painting Effects from Action – Part 1
How To Create a Photoshop Brush for Painting

5 responses

  1. Both of these are just beautiful, Syd!
    I especially love the flower cart. The colors and texture are magnificent.

    08/08/2015 at 8:54 pm

    • Thanks for the kind words Lisa. Still working on getting the watercolor effect down, but I do enjoy trying to do it. Watercolor gives objects such a different feel.

      08/09/2015 at 6:28 pm

  2. Love both images – the colors create a special mood. Your egrets always make me smile šŸ™‚

    08/09/2015 at 12:29 pm

    • Hi Inese, thanks for commenting. I think we both have a love of birds – for some reason I really see their personality in my images. I hope that is what comes through in the paintings.

      08/09/2015 at 6:30 pm

      • Their personality shines in your paintings! šŸ™‚

        08/09/2015 at 10:21 pm

Leave a Reply

