Had some fun doing these Photoshop pix – I love doing Halloween images and the one below is called “The Botanist.” Decided to show all the steps and resources that went into making them in this blog. If you are not interested in using Photoshop brushes or applying special effects, just skip the discussion and hopefully enjoy the images.
For the Halloween image the same basic face and hair layers as those created in The Botanist, which I did earlier, were used. The background was created using Flux 2.0 with the AI prompt “Add a spooky Halloween house towards the left side of the image with a black cat with gold eyes, an owl, a bat and a full moon in the image. Want realistic image with lots of blacks.” Firefly 3 and 5, and Gemini Nano Banana 3.1, were also tried, but Flux was much better for this. I added some text (Fladeo Font), the fog (can’t find this one but any will work), the spider (brush by Inobscuro) necklace (chain brush from Jessica Johnson but could not find the direct link), and the witch jpg in the upper right (from Graphics Fairy – used the Remove Background command on the Contextural Task Bar and then applied the mask). Enough Halloween, so now moving on to more of the actual processing with The Botanist image.
The Basics:
- Started with a sepia tone AI image using Google (Image FX) from January 2025 with prompts of portrait, sketchy, black and white ink, and sepia.
- Next went to Image -> Image Size and changed the Resolution to 300 ppi so the Width became 5 inches X 9.167 inches – this makes it much easier and speeds up PS when using complicated brushes and lots of layers.
- Selected just the black lines (Select -> Color Range and choose Shadows – adjusted sliders with mine set to Fuzziness 48 and Shadows 44). With selection active, added a New Layer (+) at bottom of Layers Panel and filled with black – do this by pressing ALT and Backspace together – make sure your foreground color is black. Deselect.
- Decided I wanted a wider image, so now back to a larger image. Turned off the black line layer and selected the background layer. With the Crop Tool, changed the Width size to 16 inches and Height to 9 inches in the Ratio drop-down menu.
Below shows image with the sepia Background layer turned off and this is where the creating begins. I wanted a bit of a messy watercolor feel for this image. Switched to the Brush Tool and dragged the face sketch to the right a little so I had room for some big hair!

How to Find and Load Kyle’s Free Photoshop Brushes:
His watercolor Wamazing brushes were selected and are located in PS’s Kyle T. Webster’s free Watercolor set. To get to any of his brushes, select any regular brush and in the Options Bar, press the Brush Preset Picker (to right of brush tool icon that shows a brush tip) and click the arrow down – it opens up the Picker. Click the Cog and choose Get More Brushes in the menu. (Can also go to Windows -> Brushes to open Basic Brushes Panel – in Hamburger icon in upper right, click and will see the same Cog and menu settings.) You will be taken to a screen that has over a thousand free brushes he created. Need to scroll down a bit to find the Watercolor set to download it. To open in PS, just double click the abr file where you downloaded it – the Watercolor Folder will appear at the bottom of your Brush Preset Picker or Basic Brushes Panel list. There are a bunch of other great watercolor brushes in this set. Also the Megapack set, which is great, has several different watercolor brushes in it too. Try them on a paper background for some interesting effects, but that is for another blog.
TIP 1: Use Wamazing Brushes to Get a Nice Watercolor Effect
The Wamazing brushes used here are near the bottom in his list and a little tricky to use – once you try them and practice a bit, they are really nice. Paint a shape, then keep scrubbing and they will paint and erase in one stroke – just do not lift your stylus and use very light pressure. Increase the pressure to bring back some of the paint with a chunkier grain. In the Options Bar the brushes are set to the Multiply Mode (as are most watercolor brushes) to darken whatever is under them. Change back to Normal if the effect is too strong. What Warmazing brushes do so well is on a shape’s edge – bits of it can be removed which adds more realism to a digital watercolor effect. The tilde key or eraser while using a Wamazing brush on a different brush’s strokes is another creative way to use the brushes. For more info on how Kyle uses all them, check out his 2021 video called Illustration Masterclass-Watercolor in Photoshop – it is packed with information. BTW, if you are missing Kyle, he now makes brushes only for Procreate. For this image the Wamazing Basic, Extra Rough, and Grit brushes were selected for the faces above. Pretty fun to use!
For the Lips, utilized the free Pixelstain Lip texture brushes for the gloss effect. A basic Mixer brush was used for the solid color on the actual lips. For the Eyes an Iris brush from Obsidian Dawn was selected – she charges for her brushes now, so check out a nice free one from PS guru Unmesh Dinda. Same with the eyelashes and eyebrow brushes used – I used Kristina Sherk‘s and Lindsay Adler‘s (both great retouchers) for these, but DeviantArt has some for free to download if you log in. Can also just clean them up using a small brush.
TIP 2: Creating the Hair
Duplicated the sketch layer and turned off the original for a backup. Then erased all of her original hair so crazy hair could be added. This was totally using a trial and error effort. Needed to download Kyle’s Spatter Brushes and chose the Splashy brush for the main effect. This time both the mouse and the stylus were used as they gave very different results and both looked nice in the bright orange colors. The splashes on her face are from this brush. A 33-brush set from Zsolt Kosa for $7 can be downloaded at Cubebrush and are very nice and included her Messy 04 brush (the blonde hair lines) and Afro 2 brush which were also used. Aaron Blaise’s Hair Brushes Set 2-SB 77 (can get as cheap as a $1 when he has his sales) was added in for the final look. It took several layers and different colors and opacities to get this right. This was a lot of fun!
TIP 3: Add Interesting Background with a Pattern Adjustment Layer
The image above used Heart 821 from Resource Boy at Deal Jumbo Heart Patterns. This is a set of 1017 free jpgs that must be converted to a .pat file when using it as a pattern. (This site has all kinds of wonderful free textures that I have saved as Patterns when needed.) To convert, open jpg into PS, then go to Edit -> Define Pattern – name and it appears at the bottom of the Windows -> Patterns Panel or go to the Patterns Panel at bottom and select the + icon for Define a New Pattern. I like using Pattern Adjustment Layers because it is very easy to adjust the size and see immediately how different sizes will look like on the image and the angle can be changed very quickly. This time it was set to a Scale of 484%. (See bottom image in Pattern Panel Tych below.) The pattern can be moved by clicking and dragging the mouse or stylus over the actual image. Lots of really cool effects can be made using this technique. The Pattern Adjustment Layer was duplicated and turned off since PS made me rasterize the layer before going into Topaz Studio. Topaz Studio 1 (yes 1) was opened and the Van Gogh Painting I preset was applied. For some reason it looked different than the one in Topaz Studio 2. After application, it was set to Darker Color layer blend mode. A Selective Color Adjustment Layer was clipped (ALT + click between the layers) to it and the Reds were turned to more of an orange color to match her hair and the Cyans were adjusted just a little.

TIP 4: The Shadows and Highlights Make a Huge Difference
For this image, Sam Peterson’s Shadow & Highlights brush was used. The brush is a Soft Round brush and in the Brush Settings Panel the Wet Edges were turned on (which I sometimes turn off) and Smoothing. In the Options Bar the Size is 500 px, Opacity 43%, Flow 80%, and Smoothing 10%. To use as a Shadow brush, set a New Layer to Multiply blend mode and the Color Swatch to a grayish-blue tone (Color #8e969e at bottom of Color Picker Panel). Paint in shadows where they should be. The layer opacity was set to 37%. For the Highlights effect, set another New layer to Color Dodge blend mode and do the same technique for Highlights with a darkish mid-gray color (Color #42403d) – set layer opacity to 82%. These two layers work well together and give some beautiful results. Can use a Smudge brush if they do not mesh well together.
TIP 5: Create a Dot Brush for Sprayed Watercolor Effect
Bert Monroy, possibly the best PS gurus ever with an incredible knack for making brushes, created this type of brush first. To make a brush for the scattered watercolor paint effect, his settings were for a 60-pixel Soft Round Brush and in Brush Settings Panel – Brush Tip Shape section: Hardness 50%, and Spacing 451%; Shape Dynamics: Size Jitter with Jitter set to 100% and Minimum Diameter to 26%; Scatter – set to 514%; Color Dynamics – set to Control Pen Pressure, Hue Jitter 6, Saturation Jitter to 24% and Brightness 14%; and Smoothing checked on. The paint dots layer was set to 54% opacity.
Below is how the image appeared before the Finishing touches.

Finishing Up:
- A Color Lookup Adjustment Layer set to Fuji Reala 500D Kodak 2393 (by Adobe) preset and a 42% layer opacity was selected.
- Used the Filter Gallery PS plugin that is older and does not run great on my computer, but was able to apply an effect called Warp Wave on a stamped copy of the image. Made the layer mask black by clicking CTRL + I inside mask and painted back just the yellow-green plant.
- Created another stamped layer and ran it through Topaz Adjust AI (which is no longer available – if you have an older Adjust version, even it will still run and would work) using the Seafoam preset.
- On two New Layers used Sam Peterson’s Lighten and Darken brushes, as described in Tip 4, on the green plant.
- Used the Photo Filter Adjustment Layer set to Warming Filter (85), Density 85% and then set the layer blend mode to Multiply at 28% opacity. This tip is from a great classic older book called Digital Painting Techniques Volume 1 (pdf linked) with lots on how to create brushes for digital painting so check it out. On page 55 in an article by Levente Peterffy, this Photo Filter technique was performed and he uses it often to finish off an image (and so do I).
- The eyes were selected with the Selection Brush Tool and an Exposure Adjustment Layer was added – the sliders were tweaked to make the eyes pop. (I use this technique all the time as it always does a good job on eyes.)
- Added a Levels Adjustment Layer to fix the tone.
- A Selective Color Adjustment Level was added and just the Reds and Yellows sliders were adjusted so the front leaf colors separate from her hair. Then switched the layer mask to black (CTRL+I in mask), and just the front leaf was painted back. Lots going on in the finishing steps but this is where the image pulled together.
Know this was long. If you like to do creative things in Photoshop, I believe some of these links will be very helpful. Digital Painting Techniques Volume 1 (pdf linked) is extremely interesting and useful. Hope everyone has a fun Halloween……Digital Lady Syd





































